Skip to content
Fee history2024 → 2026
Card profile · American Express

The American Express® Gold Card (a.k.a. Amex Gold Card)

$325/ year

Up to $524/yr in credits & perksAmerican Express (charge card with No Preset Spending Limit)Membership Rewards valued at 1¢/pt
4X Membership Rewards® Points at Restaurants WorldwideBaggage Insurance Plan4X Membership Rewards® Points at U.S. SupermarketsTrip Delay Insurance

Recent changes: Current annual fee: $325. Previous: $250 (pre-June 2024 refresh annual fee). First-year waived: False. New vs existing: same — $325 annual fee for new and existing cardmembers as of 2024-2025 transition period.

Benefits, itemized

24 tracked · published maximums — realized value depends on enrollment and timing.
  • 4X Membership Rewards® Points at Restaurants Worldwide

    Earning

    4X Membership Rewards points per dollar spent at restaurants worldwide, on up to $50,000 in purchases per calendar year, then 1X points

    Terms & eligibility

    Cap of $50,000 in purchases per calendar year at 4x; then 1x for the rest of the year. Restaurant Merchant Category Codes (MCCs) per Amex terms.

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Up to

    $2,000

    per_use

  • 4X Membership Rewards® Points at U.S. Supermarkets

    Earning

    4X Membership Rewards points per dollar spent at U.S. supermarkets, on up to $25,000 in purchases per calendar year, then 1X points for the rest of the year

    Terms & eligibility

    Cap of $25,000 in purchases per calendar year at 4x; then 1x for the rest of the year. U.S. supermarkets only; excludes Walmart, Target, and warehouse clubs per standard Amex MCC definitions.

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Up to

    $1,000

    per_use

  • 5X Membership Rewards® Points on Prepaid Hotels Booked through AmexTravel.com

    Earning

    5X Membership Rewards points per dollar spent on Prepaid Hotels booked through AmexTravel.com or Amex Travel App™

    Terms & eligibility

    Must book prepaid hotels through AmexTravel.com or Amex Travel App

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Included

  • 3X Membership Rewards® Points on Flights

    Earning

    3X Membership Rewards points per dollar spent on Flights booked through AmexTravel.com or Amex Travel App™ or directly through airlines

    Terms & eligibility

    Must book flights through AmexTravel.com / Amex Travel App, or directly with the airline (airline website or call center)

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Included

  • 2X Membership Rewards® Points on Prepaid Car Rentals and Cruises via AmexTravel.com

    Earning

    2X Membership Rewards points per dollar spent on Prepaid Car Rentals booked through AmexTravel.com or Amex Travel App™ and cruises booked and paid through AmexTravel.com

    Terms & eligibility

    Must book prepaid car rentals or cruises through AmexTravel.com or Amex Travel App

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Included

  • 1X Membership Rewards® Point on All Other Purchases

    Earning

    1X Membership Rewards point per dollar spent on all other eligible purchases

    Terms & eligibility

    Standard 1x base earn on all other eligible purchases

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Included

  • $120 Dining Credit (monthly, enrollment required)

    Credit

    Up to $10 in statement credits monthly when you pay with the Gold Card at Grubhub (including Seamless), Buffalo Wild Wings, Five Guys, The Cheesecake Factory, and Wonder — up to $120 annually

    Terms & eligibility

    Must enroll in the dining credit benefit; must pay with the Gold Card at a participating partner; U.S. locations only (for most partners); enrollment required

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Up to

    $120

    per month

  • $120 Uber Cash (monthly, enrollment required)

    Credit

    Get $10 in Uber Cash each month when you add your Gold Card to your Uber account — up to $120 annually

    Terms & eligibility

    Must add Gold Card to Uber account; must select an Amex Card for transaction; U.S. only

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Up to

    $120

    per month

  • $100 Resy Credit (semi-annual, enrollment required)

    Credit

    Up to $100 in statement credits each calendar year at over 10,000 qualifying U.S. Resy restaurants — up to $50 in statement credits from January through June and up to $50 in statement credits from July through December

    Terms & eligibility

    Must enroll in the Resy Credit benefit; must pay with the Gold Card at qualifying U.S. Resy restaurant; Resy account not required but recommended to discover qualifying restaurants

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Up to

    $100

    per half-year

  • $84 Dunkin' Credit (monthly, enrollment required)

    Credit

    Up to $7 in monthly statement credits when you pay with the American Express® Gold Card at U.S. Dunkin' locations — up to $84 annually

    Terms & eligibility

    Must enroll in the Dunkin' Credit benefit; must pay with the Gold Card at U.S. Dunkin' locations

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Up to

    $84

    per month

  • Hertz Five Star® Status (enrollment required)

    Access

    Complimentary upgrade to Hertz Five Star® Status, plus 2X Membership Rewards points on prepaid car rentals through AmexTravel.com or Amex Travel App™

    Terms & eligibility

    Must enroll in Hertz Five Star Status benefit; 2x points on prepaid car rentals via AmexTravel.com

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Included

  • The Hotel Collection ($100 Statement Credit on 2+ night stays)

    Credit

    Book two nights or more with The Hotel Collection through AmexTravel.com and receive a $100 credit towards eligible charges at over 1,300 upscale hotels worldwide

    Terms & eligibility

    Must book two nights or more through AmexTravel.com; eligible charges vary by property; two-night minimum stay required

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Up to

    $100

    per_stay

  • Trip Delay Insurance

    Protection

    If a round-trip is paid for entirely with your Eligible Card and a covered reason delays your trip more than 12 hours, Trip Delay Insurance can reimburse certain additional expenses purchased on the same Eligible Card, up to $300 per trip, maximum 2 claims per Eligible Card per 12 consecutive month period

    Terms & eligibility

    Round-trip must be paid for entirely with Eligible Card; covered reason must delay trip more than 12 hours; max 2 claims per Eligible Card per 12 consecutive month period

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Up to

    $600

    per_trip

  • Baggage Insurance Plan

    Protection

    Coverage up to $1,250 for carry-on Baggage and up to $500 for checked Baggage, in excess of coverage provided by the Common Carrier

    Terms & eligibility

    Must purchase Entire Fare for Common Carrier Vehicle ticket on Eligible Card; in excess of Common Carrier coverage

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Up to

    $1,750

    per_trip

  • Car Rental Loss and Damage Insurance

    Protection

    Secondary coverage for Damage to or Theft of a Rental Vehicle in a Covered Territory when you reserve and pay for the Entire Rental with Eligible Card and decline the collision damage waiver (CDW)

    Terms & eligibility

    Must reserve and pay for Entire Rental with Eligible Card; must decline CDW at counter; secondary coverage only; no liability coverage; excludes Australia, Italy, and New Zealand rentals

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Included

  • Global Assist® Hotline

    Access

    24/7 emergency assistance and coordination services when traveling more than 100 miles from home, including medical and legal referrals, emergency cash wires, and missing luggage assistance

    Terms & eligibility

    Card Member is responsible for costs charged by third-party service providers

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Est. value

    ~$1

    on_demand

  • No Foreign Transaction Fees

    Access

    No foreign transaction fees from American Express on purchases made outside the U.S.

    Terms & eligibility

    Applies to all international purchases

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Included

  • No Preset Spending Limit (Charge Card Feature)

    Access

    No Preset Spending Limit — flexible spending limit that adapts based on factors such as purchase, payment, and credit history

    Terms & eligibility

    Charge card — balance must be paid in full each billing cycle; in certain instances, Amex may assign a specific spending limit based on factors such as credit score, past due payments, or high balances on revolving credit accounts; specific spending limit notification will be provided

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Included

  • Purchase Protection

    Protection

    Covered Purchases protected for up to 90 days from Covered Purchase date when accidentally damaged, stolen, or lost — up to $10,000 per Covered Purchase, up to $50,000 per calendar year

    Terms & eligibility

    Up to $10,000 per Covered Purchase; up to $50,000 per calendar year; terms, conditions, and exclusions apply

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Included

  • Extended Warranty

    Protection

    Up to one extra year added to the Original Manufacturer's Warranty for Covered Purchases; applies to warranties of 5 years or less; up to $10,000 per Covered Purchase, up to $50,000 per Card Member account per calendar year

    Terms & eligibility

    Applies to warranties of 5 years or less; up to $10,000 per Covered Purchase; up to $50,000 per Card Member account per calendar year

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Included

  • Amex Special Ticket Access (Amex Presale Tickets® and Amex Reserved Tickets®)

    Access

    Access to Amex Presale Tickets and Amex Reserved Tickets to select can't-miss events across sports, music, and more; plus additional perks at select events

    Terms & eligibility

    Subject to event availability; while supplies last; not all seats may be offered

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Included

  • American Express Venue Collection™

    Access

    Enhanced experience at select stadiums and arenas including dedicated entrances or fast lanes; enroll your Card and get 10% back on qualifying concessions purchases up to $250 per calendar year

    Terms & eligibility

    Must enroll one Card per Card Member; qualifying concessions only at Venue Collection stadiums/arenas

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Est. value

    ~$250

    per_use

  • Send & Split® (Venmo/PayPal Integration)

    Access

    Send money and split purchases with other Venmo or PayPal users in the Amex App, without standard Venmo or PayPal credit card fee; split purchases and get paid back directly to Card as statement credit

    Terms & eligibility

    Must enroll in Send & Split via Amex App; terms apply

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Included

  • Membership Rewards® Points Transfer to 20 Airline and Hotel Partners

    Access

    Transfer Membership Rewards points to 20 airline and hotel travel partners

    Terms & eligibility

    Subject to receiving program terms; minimum transfer amounts may apply

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

    Included

Downgrade paths

Product changes usually keep your account age and credit line. Retained-value figures are estimates — confirm specifics with the issuer.

  • Move to American Express® Green Card (downgrade within Membership Rewards personal charge card family)

    $150/yr

    Community-reported · not guaranteedRetained value not quantified

    Existing Amex Gold cardmembers in good standing; product change available within the same card family per NerdWallet Aug 6, 2026; subject to Amex's product change eligibility matrix Call American Express customer service at (800) 528-4800 and request to switch to the Amex Green Card per wallethub.com Jul 27, 2026; account typically open ≥12 months; subject to credit approval; Amex product changes can only be made within the same card family (per NerdWallet)

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026
  • Move to American Express® Blue Cash Everyday® Card (no AF, but cross-family product change — UNCONFIRMED)

    no annual fee

    Community-reported · not guaranteedRetained value not quantified

    Existing Amex Gold cardmembers in good standing; product change availability UNCONFIRMED — Amex product changes typically must be within the same card family per NerdWallet; Blue Cash Everyday is a Cash Back family card, NOT a Membership Rewards card, so cross-family product change may not be available Call American Express customer service at (800) 528-4800 and request product change; UNCONFIRMED whether this cross-family product change is permitted

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026
  • Move to The Platinum Card® (Upgrade path — not downgrade)

    $895/yr

    Community-reported · not guaranteedRetained value not quantified

    Existing Amex Gold cardmembers in good standing may be able to upgrade to Amex Platinum; product change available within the same Membership Rewards personal charge card family per NerdWallet; subject to Amex's product change eligibility matrix Call American Express customer service or use online product change option if available; account typically open ≥12 months; subject to credit approval; cannot have received a Platinum new account bonus in past 48 months (per Amex bonus rules)

    Government source · Aug 24, 2026

Recent retention offers

Government source · Aug 24, 2026
  • Offer reported2026-04 (Reddit r/AmexPlatinum thread 'Retention Offer DP 04/18/26')

    15k points for $3k spend in 3 months. AMEX Gold ... People still routinely get 30-45K.

    $3,000 in 3 months spend3 months1 datapoints · low confidence
    upd. 2 months ago
  • Offer reported2026 (Reddit r/amex thread 'Amex Gold Retention Offer')

    we agreed on an offer for 25,000 points as a retention offer … gold $325 annual fee for 32,500 MR points

    UNCONFIRMED (not specified in snippet) spendUNCONFIRMED (not specified in snippet)1 datapoints · low confidence
    upd. 2 months ago
  • Offer reported2026-03 (Reddit r/amex thread 'Gold Card Retention Offer Accepted')

    Another data point (March 2026): Offered 20k MR or $200 statement credit for $2k in purchases in 3 months. Took the statement credit.

    $2,000 in 3 months spend3 months1 datapoints · low confidence
    upd. 2 months ago
  • Offer reported2025-09 (Reddit r/CreditCards thread 'Amex Gold Retention Offer Data Point Sept 2025')

    Offered 20k points, $2k spend, 3 months. was offered $200 credit, $2k spend, 3 months. Additional info: Spend between 5-10k per year on the [card]

    $2,000 in 3 months spend3 months1 datapoints · low confidence
    upd. 2 months ago
  • Offer reported2026 (Reddit r/AmexPlatinum thread 'Is Amex getting stingy with retention offers')

    Unfortunately there is no retention offer available right now on the account. Retention offer on Amex Gold, around 60k spend in 12 months

    n/a — no offer extended despite ~$60K spend in 12 months spendn/a1 datapoints · low confidence
    upd. 2 months ago

Offers vary by account and eligibility. Reported outcomes are not guaranteed. Community data shown here is an illustrative sample — never rely on it as a promise of what you'll be offered.

Information is provided for educational and decision-support purposes and may change. Always confirm current terms, benefits, eligibility, fees, and offers directly with American Express.